Common land units

There are five units of common land in our area and these are described in greater detail in the registers at the Town Hall. There are also accompanying maps to illustrate the boundaries of the common land.

The details below give a general indication of where our common land may be found. However, they are not intended to replace the need for more formal enquiries such as those, for example, usually addressed to our land charges department for property and other transactions.

Ordinance survey grid references are included to help locate the location of the common. In some cases, the common land unit is in two parts and this is indicated by an additional grid reference.

Our maps and registers are available for public viewing, free of charge. Please see common land.

Unit no and description

Area (hectares)

OS reference

CL9 Pickup Bank and land adjacent to Windy Bank



CL13 Darwen Moor



CL156 Darwen Moor



CL158 Grimehills Moor and Cranberry Moor



CL106 Pleasant View Tockholes



One further area of common land straddles the boundary between Blackburn with Darwen Borough Council, Lancashire County Council (Rossendale) and Bury Metropolitan Borough Council.

Only a small portion lies within the Blackburn with Darwen area and as a result CL42 Holcombe Moor is administered for commons registration purposes by Lancashire County Council.