Councillors, Wards, Party Leaders and Political Balance: political composition of the Council

The borough of Blackburn with Darwen is divided up into 23 areas, called wards, for election purposes, so that the views of all local communities can be represented at the Council.

These wards usually have 3 councillors, except for Earcroft, Whitehall, and North Turton and Tockholes which have 2 members and East Rural which has only 1.


Politicial composition of the Council

  • Labour: 44
  • Conservatives: 17
  • Liberal Democrats: 3
  • Vacancy: 0

Party leaders

The role of councillors

Councillors, or members, are elected to represent the views of their constituents and to take up matters of council business on their behalf as well as guiding the overall policies of the council.

The councillors make policy decisions, taking into account public opinion and officer advice. council staff put these policies into effect. The council also carries out consultation with local people on a range of issues, and works closely with other local organisations.

Your councillors

Find your local councillor

We use cookies, just to track visits to our website, we store no personal details. Show ACCEPT COOKIES / DECLINE COOKIES option